Design Review Commission

The Design Review Commission is established to develop and enforce design standards, policies, and practices that promote aesthetics, encourage economic vitality, and enhance the design of the City’s built environment. (§1, Ord. 2106, eff. 1/6/12)

Design Review Commissioners hold appointments for a 4-year term.

The Design Review Commission meets at 7:00 p.m. on the 1st and 3rd Wednesdays of  each month in the Council Chamber, City Hall, 1666 N. Main Street, Walnut Creek.

Agendas, staff reports, past meeting resumes and audio recordings can be found on the City Clerk web pages at Public Meetings Videos.


Marilyn Weiss - Chair

2nd Term (2016-2020)

 Marilyn Weiss sq

 Brian Kilian - Vice Chair

2nd Term (2018-2022)

Brian Killian sq

 Casey Case 

1st Term (2018-2022)

 casey Case sq

 Carlos Velilla

1st Term (2018-2022)

Carlos Velilla sq

 Joseph Gorny 

2nd Term (2018-2022)

 Joesph Gorny sq
Note: Year in parentheses denotes dates of term

Commission Duties 
The Design Review Commission is composed of five members appointed for four-year terms on a staggered basis. The composition of the commission includes three registered architects (one of whom must be a registered landscape architect and two residents at large). The three registered architects need not be residents of the City. The Commission generally meets at 7:00 p.m. the first and third Wednesdays of each month in the City Hall Council Chamber. The Design Review Commission shall have the following duties:

(a) To review and approve the design components of development applications including individual buildings, structures, signs and their environs.
(b) To prepare, adopt, and recommend to the Planning Commission and City Council standards and policies for the design of buildings, signs and other structures in the City.
(c) To perform such other duties as may be required by the City Council or the municipal code.

Staff contact: Ken Nodder, Principal Planner, at (925) 943-5899, ext. 2234