COVID-19 UPDATE: The City of Walnut Creek is coordinating with Contra Costa Health Services, the local public health authority, on the developing COVID-19 pandemic. For local information, updates and resources about COVID-19 visit

Other Resources

Local Planning Resources

TRANSPAC (Transportation Partnership and Cooperation) is the Regional Transportation Planning Committee (RTPC) for Central Contra Costa. TRANSPAC is responsible for the development of transportation plans, projects and programs for the Central County areas as well as the appointment of two representatives to the Contra Costa Transportation Authority who serve alternating two-year terms.

Countywide Transportation Plan
The Countywide Comprehensive Transportation Plan, or CTP, is one of the key planning tools called for in the Measure J Growth Management Program (GMP). The CTP provides the overall direction for achieving and maintaining a balanced and functional transportation system within Contra Costa - including a series of strategies and implementing actions - while strengthening links between land use decisions and transportation. It outlines the Authority's vision for Contra Costa and it establishes goals, strategies, specific projects, and other actions for achieving that vision.

511 Contra Costa 
511 Contra Costa offers various programs to encourage motorists who current drive along to try alternative mode of transportation instead.  Program services include: Community Outreach, Public Education, Incentive Programs, Bike Rack Assistance Program, Commute Alternative Assistance for employers. 

Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA)
CCTA is a public agency formed by Contra Costa voters in 1988 to manage the county's transportation sales tax program and to do countywide transportation planning.


Regional Planning Resources

Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) 
MTC is the transportation planning, coordinating and financing agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area.

East Bay Regional Park District (EBRPD)
Offers trails, interpretive and recreation programs, other activities and indoor/outdoor rental facilities in parks spanning Alameda and Contra Costa counties. The East Bay Regional Park District maintains several facilities in Walnut Creek, including the Iron Horse Trail and Contra Costa Canal Trail.

Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG)
The Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) is the comprehensive regional planning agency and Council of Governments for the nine counties and 101 cities and towns of the San Francisco Bay region. The Bay Area is comprised of nine counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma.

Commuter Benefits Program
As of September 30, 2014, Bay Area employers with 50 or more full-time employees within the Bay Area Air Quality Management District (Air District) geographic boundaries are required to register and offer commuter benefits to their employees in order to comply with Air District Regulation 14, Rule 1, also known as the Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program. Employers must select one of four Commuter Benefit options to offer their employees. 

Transportation 2035 Plan
On April 22, 2009, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) adopted the Transportation 2035 Plan for the San Francisco Bay Area, which specifies how some $218 billion in anticipated federal, state and local transportation funds will be spent in the nine-county Bay Area during the next 25 years.

National and State Planning Resources

Complete Streets Coalition
Smart Growth America is the only national organization dedicated to researching, advocating for and leading coalitions to bring smart growth practices to more communities nationwide. From providing more sidewalks so people can walk to their town center to ensuring that more homes are built near public transit or productive farms remain a part of our communities, smart growth helps make sure that people across the nation can live in great neighborhoods.

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)
Caltrans is the state agency that maintains and operates California’s highway system.