Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

More Resources

Post Date:01/20/2020 4:59 PM

Local Planning Resources


TRANSPAC (Transportation Partnership and Cooperation) is the regional transportation planning committee for Central Contra Costa. TRANSPAC is responsible for the development of transportation plans, projects, and programs for the Central County areas as well as the appointment of two representatives to the Contra Costa Transportation Authority who serve alternating two-year terms.

Countywide Transportation Plan

The Countywide Comprehensive Transportation Plan, or CTP, is one of the key planning tools called for in the Measure J Growth Management Program (GMP). The CTP provides the overall direction for achieving and maintaining a balanced and functional transportation system within Contra Costa – including a series of strategies and implementing actions – while strengthening links between land use decisions and transportation. It outlines the Transportation Authority's vision for Contra Costa and establishes goals, strategies, specific projects, and other actions for achieving that vision.

511 Contra Costa 

511 Contra Costa offers various programs to encourage motorists who currently drive alone to try alternative modes of transportation instead.  Program services include community outreach, public education, incentive programs, bike rack assistance program, and commute alternative assistance for employers.

Contra Costa Transportation Authority (CCTA)

CCTA is a public agency formed by Contra Costa voters in 1988 to manage the county's transportation sales tax program and to do countywide transportation planning.


Regional Planning Resources

Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) 

MTC is the transportation planning, coordinating, and financing agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area.

East Bay Regional Park District (EBRPD)

Offers trails, interpretive and recreation programs, other activities, and indoor/outdoor rental facilities in parks spanning Alameda and Contra Costa counties. The East Bay Regional Park District maintains several facilities in Walnut Creek, including the Iron Horse Trail and Contra Costa Canal Trail.

Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG)

The Association of Bay Area Governments (ABAG) is the comprehensive regional planning agency and Council of Governments for the nine counties and 101 cities and towns of the San Francisco Bay region. The Bay Area comprises nine counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, and Sonoma.

Commuter Benefits Program

As of September 30, 2014, Bay Area employers with 50 or more full-time employees within the Bay Area Air Quality Management District geographic boundaries are required to register and offer commuter benefits to their employees in order to comply with Air District Regulation 14, Rule 1, also known as the Bay Area Commuter Benefits Program. Employers must select one of four Commuter Benefit options to offer their employees.

Transportation 2035 Plan

On April 22, 2009, the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) adopted the Transportation 2035 Plan for the San Francisco Bay Area, which specifies how some $218 billion in anticipated federal, state and local transportation funds will be spent in the nine-county Bay Area during the next 25 years.

National and State Planning Resources

Complete Streets Coalition

Smart Growth America is the only national organization dedicated to researching, advocating for, and leading coalitions to bring smart growth practices to more communities nationwide. From providing more sidewalks so people can walk to their town center to ensuring that more homes are built near public transit and productive farms remain a part of our communities, smart growth helps make sure that people across the nation can live in great neighborhoods.

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)

Caltrans is the state agency that maintains and operates California’s highway system.

Transportation Funding

Decreasing congestion and increasing mobility is a big priority for the City. Learn about the many investments made into making transportation more efficient for our residents.

Caltrans, TDA Article 3

Metropolitan Transportation Commission – MTC is the transportation planning, coordinating, and financing agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area.

OBAG (One Bay Area Grant) – The One Bay Area Grant program (OBAG) establishes program commitments and policies for investing roughly $800 million over the four-year Cycle 2 period (FYs 2012-13 through 2015-16), funded by federal funds authorized by Congress in the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century (MAP-21) Act.

Measure J – In November 2004, Contra Costa County voters approved Measure J with 71% voting in favor. The measure provided for the continuation of our county's half-cent transportation sales tax for 25 more years beyond the original expiration date of 2009. As with Measure C (the original 1988 transportation sales tax measure), the tax revenues will be used to fund a voter-approved expenditure plan for transportation programs and projects. Measure J will provide approximately $2.5 billion for countywide and local transportation projects and programs through the year 2034.

Safe Routes to School – Safe Routes to School programs across the country educate school-age children and their parents on ways to bike and walk to school safely with practical, hands-on training.

Safe Routes to Transit – Regional Measure 2, the $1 bridge toll increase, is funding projects that enhance pedestrian and bicycle access to transit stations. TransForm is administering the program. The first and second of five $4 million funding cycles were completed in 2005 and 2007.

511 Contra Costa – 511 Contra Costa is a one-stop phone and web source for up-to-the-minute Bay Area traffic, transit, rideshare, and bicycling information. It's FREE and available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week – from anywhere in the nine-county Bay Area.

One-Time Funds – Broadway Plaza funding

Return to full list >>